Who Are You?…Are You Depressed?


THE CarlaStarla! has personally accepted that acknowledging who she is helps with living an Awesome Life!  I’ve Excitedly! shared with you my liberating declaration of Who I Am!…an Awesome Discovery!

I AM a Strong-Minded, Respectful, Beauteous Chocolatey, Virtuous Woman!  

~THE CarlaStarla!

Now it’s your turn

  

Are you Depressed?

   

Depression
severe despondency and dejection, typically felt over a period of time and accompanied by feelings of hopelessness and inadequacy

Here’s what the Bible says about depression

1 I waited and waited and waited for GOD.
At last he looked;
finally he listened.
2 He lifted me out of the ditch,
pulled me from deep mud.
He stood me up on a solid rock
to make sure I wouldn’t slip.
3 He taught me how to sing the latest God-song,
a praise-song to our God.
More and more people are seeing this:
they enter the mystery,
abandoning themselves to GOD.
Psalm 40:1-3

1 God is a safe place to hide,
ready to help when we need him.
2 We stand fearless at the cliff-edge of doom,
courageous in seastorm and earthquake,
Psalm 46:1-2

Pile your troubles on God’s shoulder—
he’ll carry your load,
he’ll help you out.
He’ll never let good people
topple into ruin.
Psalm 55:22

The person who shuns the bitter moments of friends
will be an outsider at their celebrations.
Proverbs 14:10

A cheerful disposition is good for your health;
gloom and doom leave you bone-tired.
Proverbs 17:22

28 Are you tired?
Worn out?
Burned out on religion?
Come to me.
Get away with me and you’ll recover your life.
I’ll show you how to take a real rest.
29 Walk with me and work with me
—watch how I do it.
Learn the unforced rhythms of grace.
I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you.
30 Keep company with me
and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.
Matthew 11:28-30

14 I can anticipate the response that is coming:
“I know that all God’s commands are spiritual,
but I’m not.
Isn’t this also your experience?”
Yes.
I’m full of myself
—after all,
I’ve spent a long time in sin’s prison.
15 What I don’t understand about myself is
that I decide one way,
but then I act another,
doing things I absolutely despise.
Romans 7:14-15

18 I realize that I don’t have what it takes.
I can will it, but I can’t do it.
19 I decide to do good,
but I don’t really do it;
I decide not to do bad, but then I do it anyway.
20 My decisions, such as they are,
don’t result in actions.
Something has gone wrong deep within me
and gets the better of me every time.
21 It happens so regularly that it’s predictable.
The moment I decide to do good,
sin is there to trip me up.
22 I truly delight in God’s commands,
23 but it’s pretty obvious that
not all of me joins in that delight.
Parts of me covertly rebel,
and just when I least expect it,
they take charge.
24 I’ve tried everything and nothing helps.
I’m at the end of my rope.
Is there no one who can do anything for me?
Isn’t that the real question?
25 The answer, thank God, is that
Jesus Christ can and does.
He acted to set things right in this life of contradictions where I want to serve God with all my heart and mind,
but am pulled by the influence of sin
to do something totally different.
Romans 7:18-25

3 All praise to the God and Father of our Master,
Jesus the Messiah!
Father of all mercy!
God of all healing counsel!
4 He comes alongside us when we go through hard times, and before you know it,
he brings us alongside someone else who is
going through hard times
so that we can be there for that person
just as God was there for us.
2 Corinthians 1:3-4

8 We don’t want you in the dark, friends,
about how hard it was when all this came down on us
in Asia province.
It was so bad we didn’t think we were going to make it.
9 We felt like we’d been sent to death row,
that it was all over for us.
As it turned out,
it was the best thing that could have happened.
Instead of trusting in our own strength
or wits to get out of it,
we were forced to trust God totally
 —not a bad idea since he’s the God who raises the dead!
10 And he did it,
rescued us from certain doom.
And he’ll do it again,
rescuing us as many times as
we need rescuing.
11 You and your prayers are part of the rescue operation
—I don’t want you in the dark about that either.
I can see your faces even now,
lifted in praise for God’s deliverance of us,
a rescue in which your prayers played such a crucial part.
2 Corinthians 1:8-11

8 As it is, there’s not much chance of that.
You know for yourselves that we’re not much to look at.
We’ve been surrounded and battered by troubles,
but we’re not demoralized;
we’re not sure what to do,
9 but we know that God knows what to do;
we’ve been spiritually terrorized,
but God hasn’t left our side;
we’ve been thrown down,
but we haven’t broken.
2 Corinthians 4:8-9

Now we look inside,
and what we see is that anyone
united with the Messiah
gets a fresh start,
is created new.
The old life is gone;
a new life burgeons!
Look at it!
2 Corinthians 5:17

12 Friends, when life gets really difficult,
don’t jump to the conclusion that God isn’t on the job.
13 Instead, be glad that you are in
the very thick of what Christ experienced.
This is a spiritual refining process,
with glory just around the corner.
1 Peter 4:12-13
THE MESSAGE: The Bible in Contemporary Language
©2002, by Eugene H. Peterson
The Message Bible Online 

(NOTE: Red Text represents Jesus speaking)

Next week

#7Are you Doubtful?

Shiny & Salty TRUTH! Ministries is a virtual resource designed to Inspirethe “Un-Saved” & “Saved” via experiences of THE CarlaStarlato make the Wisest Decision of Salvation through Jesus Christ Living in His Righteousness, so you can live an Awesome Life!

www.ShinyAndSaltyTRUTH.org
Note: for faster website loading…get Safari 5.1 for FREE! at http://www.apple.come/safari/download
Leave a Reply

